Lisabi Elite Association of Houston

Egba Oke-Ona



The Osile Oke-Ona, was formerly the OLOKO OF OKO who was also formerly the ALAFIN OF OKO in the early days. The throne was founded by ORANMIYAN (Oranyan) who was the son of Okanbi and the grandson of Oduduwa. He was the first Oba to occupy this throne of the Osile at the old Oko Orile near Ile-Ife. He was first the Alafin of Ile-Ife in those days. He left Ile-Ife and founded and became the 1st Alafin of Oyo in the old Oyo township and later left and founded and reigned in the old Oko township. The Oko, was the seat of Government of Yorubaland for quite a while before it was moved to Oyo during the reign of Sango.

The throne of the osile (Oloko) was first occupied by Oba Oranyan (last born of the seven ruling houses of oduduwa of Yorubaland, the first grandchild of oduduwa being a female by name “IYUNADE”, the mother of the first Olowu of Owu). The second occupant of the throne of the Osile (Oloko) was also another son of Oba Oranyan by the name Sango who today has became deified throughout Yorubaland and Egbaland. You can therefore see that the crown of the Osile (now in Abeokuta) is as ancient as any other crown in Yorubaland. For the avoidance of doubt, Oduduwa had a son called Okanbi. Okanbi gave birth to all seven children who now occupy all the important thrones in Yorubaland. The current Osile of Oke-Ona Egba was named Oba Alayeluwa, (Dr.) Adedapo Tejuoso CON, Karunwi III.

They are, in order of seniority:

  • Iyunade a female child who gave birth to the first Olowu of Owu
  • Another female child who gave birth to the first ALAKETU OF KETU (not Alake of Ake) now in the Republic of Benin
  • The Oba of Benin
  • The Oba of Benin
  • The Orangun of Ila
  • Onisabe of Sabe (now in the Republic of Benin)
  • Onipopo of Popo (now in the Republic of Benin)
  • Oranmiyan (Oranyan)

He was the only one his father had while on the throne at Ile-Ife. He therefore rightfully also came on the throne at Ile-Ife as Alafin of Ile-Ife. He later left and founded and reigned in the ancient township of Oko as Alafin Oko.

In fact, he reigned and died in Oko and left the seat of Yoruba Government in Oko for quite some time.

The Oba Osiles that have reigned in Abeokuta since 1897 to date are:-

  • Oba Kariunwi I, the 1st Osile in Abeokuta reigned from 1897-1899. He met Governor McCallum when the Governor summoned all the four Egba Obas (Alake, Osile, Agura and Olowu) to a face to face meeting on the 31st of January, 1898, this had hitherto been a taboo.
  • Oba Sanyaolu Adebare I, as the 2nd Osile reigned from 1900-1920; he was a Christian and was given a befitting burial by Rev. Welbom of Wesleyan Church.
  • Oba David Sokunbi Karunwi II, was crowned on 04/04/1904 i.e Easter Monday, 4th April, 1904 by Bishop Oluwole. He was described as the first educated Christian Oba in Egbaland. Oba karunwi II joined his ancestors in June 1918.
  • Oba Suberu Adedamola I, 1918-1932
  • Oba Adedotun Yesufu, 1933-1934
  • Oba Alimi Adeniran Adedamola II installed in 1951 and reigned until 1988 when he joined his ancestors
  • Oba Dr. Adedapo Adewale Tejuoso karunwi III, Oranmiyan installed 20th May, 1989 as the Osile and still reigns to date

Oke-Ona Egba is one of the four strong pillars (sections) that founded and settled in Abeokuta in 1830. The four pillars are Egba Alake section (under the Oba Alake), Oke-Ona Egba Section (under Oba Osile), Gbagura Section (under the Oba Agura), and Owu Section (under Oba Olowu).

The important towns that followed Sodeke to settle in Abeokuta on the 5th of August, 1830 as listed by A.K. Ajisafe were Ake, Oke (Oke-Ona), Iporo, Kemta, Kesi, Ikereku, Idomapa, Ido Orun, Igbein, Igbore, Itoku and others.

Oke-Ona Egba as existing in Egbaland and Abeokuta today consists of the following townships in order of seniority:

  • Ago Oko
  • Ikija
  • Ilugun
  • Ikereku
  • Ilawo
  • Ago-Oko
  • Idomapa
  • Ibere Kodo
  • Imala

Those that deflected to Egba Alake but are about returning to Oke-Ona Egba are:

  • Idofin
  • Idere
  • Efon

Townships as formally belonging to Oke-Ona Egba:

  • Ejigbo
  • Ijeja
  • Erunbe
  • Ifote
  • Erinja
  • Ikanna
  • Ikire
  • Ilogbo
  • Imo, e.t.c.

The Ijaiye people, for instance, on arrival in Abeokuta in the middle of the 19th century were settled in Ago-Oko, Oke-Ona Egbaland. They should normally be under Oke-Ona Egba, but not surprisingly, the Egba Alake people have wrongly claimed them as part of Egba alake due to the power of incumbency of the Alake.